Comparison

Meowant vs Litter-Robot 4: Which Is Better? (October 2026)

Updated on · By the Elf Kittens team

Choose Meowant for its low entry and open space, or Litter-Robot 4 for a stated capacity of up to 4 cats and carbon odor filters. The litter robot vs Meowant choice depends on your cat’s access needs, home setup and preferred controls.

On this page (8 sections)
  1. Litter robot vs Meowant: what are the main differences?
  2. Which box works better for your cats?
  3. What litter can each automatic box use?
  4. How do their app and safety features compare?
  5. Which one has the stronger odor-control setup?
  6. How much room should you plan for?
  7. Which box is easier to clean and maintain?
  8. Which should you choose: Meowant or Litter-Robot 4?

Choose Meowant for its low entry and open space, or Litter-Robot 4 for a stated capacity of up to 4 cats and carbon odor filters. In the litter robot vs Meowant comparison, your cat’s access needs, the space available and the app features you want should guide the choice.

Meowant’s model has an 8.27 in entrance and three cleaning modes. Litter-Robot 4 is specified for up to 4 cats, and its app tracks waste and litter levels.

Both clean automatically after use and offer app features. Their details differ on cat limits, litter guidance, entry and placement, so compare those factors before choosing.

Litter-Robot 4Best for households with up to 4 cats

Litter-Robot 4

8.2/10Our score

See it on Amazon

Meowant 106L Litter BoxBest for low-entry access

Meowant 106L Litter Box

7.5/10Our score

See it on Amazon

Litter robot vs Meowant: what are the main differences?

Meowant emphasizes a low entrance and open 106L space; Litter-Robot 4 gives a maximum household size of 4 cats. The best fit depends on the details that matter in your home.

FeatureLitter-Robot 4Meowant 106L Litter Box
Dimensions27 x 24.25 x 29.5 in20 x 21.5 x 20 in
Cat guidanceUp to 4 cats; each cat must weigh at least 3 lb for Automatic ModeCats from 3.3 to 30 lb; multi-cat friendly
EntryEntrance height not specified here8.27 in low entrance
CleaningAutomatic sifting cycleAutomatic, manual and timer modes
AppWhisker appAIRPET app; 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
Litter guidanceNot specified hereClumping litter, pieces shorter than 15 mm
Waste and odor featuresWaste drawer, carbon filters or optional OdorTrap packsSealed waste can, odor-proof cover and deodorizing gel

These figures help compare the available details, but they don't tell you how much room you'll need for access or maintenance. Measure the intended spot and leave room to reach the waste container and clean the unit.

Which box works better for your cats?

Meowant gives a specific low-entry height; Litter-Robot 4 gives a clear maximum cat count. Start with your cats’ size and ability to step into the box, then consider how often they use it.

Is Meowant better for senior or short-legged cats?

Meowant’s 8.27 in entrance is described as suitable for short-legged, overweight and senior cats. Its open design and 106L toilet space may also suit cats that prefer room to move.

The stated cat weight range is 3.3 to 30 lb. If a cat is outside that range or has trouble stepping over a threshold, ask your veterinarian or Meowant about safe access before switching boxes.

Is Litter-Robot 4 better for a larger cat household?

Litter-Robot 4 is specified for up to 4 cats, with a minimum weight of 3 lb per cat for Automatic Mode. That guidance makes household capacity easier to assess when you have several cats.

Meowant says its app can record usage for 30+ cats after an app upgrade. That describes app tracking, not a stated limit for the number of cats the box can serve.

Whichever you choose, give cats time to adjust to a new box. Our guide on whether cats like self-cleaning litter boxes covers ways to make the change less abrupt.

What litter can each automatic box use?

Meowant specifies clumping litter with pieces shorter than 15 mm; Whisker’s details here don't specify Litter-Robot 4’s litter requirements. Check each brand’s instructions for the exact litter you use.

Meowant warns against filling above its marked line because excess litter may be disposed of during cleaning. That limit can affect how often you top up the box and how much litter you use at once.

For Litter-Robot 4, confirm compatible litter before buying or changing brands. Our guide to automatic litter boxes that use regular clumping litter can help you compare litter needs across models.

How do their app and safety features compare?

Both offer app controls and monitoring, while their stated connections and tracked details differ. Check your home Wi-Fi and the information you want to follow.

Meowant connects only to 2.4GHz Wi-Fi through the AIRPET app. The app can show usage data and status, support remote control, and track a cat’s weight and activity.

The Whisker app monitors Litter-Robot 4’s waste and litter levels, provides health insights and tracks a cat’s weight after each use. The Wi-Fi band isn't specified here, so check Whisker’s setup guidance if your router settings matter.

Meowant describes weight-detection sensors and abnormal alarms as safety features. Litter-Robot 4’s Automatic Mode requires each cat to weigh at least 3 lb, a threshold to consider if you have a small cat or kitten.

For setup help after choosing Meowant, see our Meowant app connection guide. If you're comparing app needs across models, our guide on whether automatic litter boxes need Wi-Fi explains what to check.

Which one has the stronger odor-control setup?

Meowant uses an odor-proof cover and deodorizing gel; Litter-Robot 4 uses carbon filters or optional OdorTrap packs. Neither set of features removes the need to empty waste and clean the box.

Meowant separates waste into a sealed trash can with a 6.7L capacity. Its odor-control features include a cover and deodorizing gel that breaks down ammonia in odors.

Litter-Robot 4 has a waste drawer and odor-absorbing carbon filters or optional OdorTrap packs. Whisker says its automatic cleaning cycle and odor-control features significantly reduce odors compared with standard litter boxes.

Room airflow, cleaning routines and litter choice can also affect smells. Our guide to odor from self-cleaning litter boxes covers practical ways to manage it.

How much room should you plan for?

Meowant has the smaller stated dimensions, while Litter-Robot 4 needs clearance from surrounding walls. Measure the space with access for cats and routine care in mind.

Meowant measures 20 x 21.5 x 20 in. Litter-Robot 4 measures 27 x 24.25 x 29.5 in and must not touch any walls or be pushed into a corner.

Treat those measurements as the unit dimensions, not as a complete placement plan. Leave room for cats to approach, for the entry to remain clear, and for you to remove waste and clean the unit.

A mat can help catch litter outside the box, but make sure it doesn't interfere with entry or stability. Our guide to placing an automatic litter box on carpet explains what to consider under the unit.

Which box is easier to clean and maintain?

Meowant’s drum detaches for rinsing, while Litter-Robot 4’s routine waste handling centers on emptying its drawer. Your cleaning routine will still include regular checks and care.

Meowant says its drum is detachable and can be rinsed, but its base cannot be washed and should be wiped with a cloth. It also has a silicone liner and three drainage holes for water.

For Litter-Robot 4, the stated routine is to empty the waste drawer when full. Follow Whisker’s care instructions for cleaning the globe, drawer and other parts.

For either model, plan where waste bags and cleaning supplies will go before setup. Our Meowant cleaning guide walks through care for that model.

Which should you choose: Meowant or Litter-Robot 4?

Choose Meowant if low entry, open space and its three cleaning modes fit your cats; choose Litter-Robot 4 if you need a stated capacity of up to 4 cats and its placement rules work in your room. Compare the cat guidance and setup requirements before deciding.

Meowant’s 106L space and 8.27 in entrance make its access details clear, while its app requires 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and its litter guidance sets a clumping-litter limit. Litter-Robot 4 provides a 4-cat maximum and app monitoring for waste and litter levels, but needs space away from walls.

For a broader look at the Meowant unit, read our Meowant litter box review. If you want to compare more options, start with our automatic litter box buying guide.

Sources

  • Meowant SC09 Plus
  • Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Frequently asked questions

Is Meowant or Litter-Robot 4 better for multiple cats?

Litter-Robot 4 is specified for up to 4 cats, with each cat weighing at least 3 lb for Automatic Mode. Meowant describes its 106L model as multi-cat friendly for cats from 3.3 to 30 lb, but it does not give a maximum cat count.

Choose by your household size and each cat’s weight.

Which has the lower entrance?

Meowant has an 8.27 in low entrance, which may make access easier for short-legged, overweight or senior cats. The available Litter-Robot 4 details do not give an entrance height, so compare the opening or confirm its dimensions if entry is your deciding factor.

Do both litter boxes have an app?

Yes. Meowant’s AIRPET app supports remote controls, usage data, status and weight and activity tracking, and the box connects only to 2.4GHz Wi-Fi.

The Whisker app for Litter-Robot 4 monitors waste and litter levels and provides health insights and weight tracking after each use.

Can either box use any cat litter?

Meowant supports clumping cat litter with pieces shorter than 15 mm, and excess litter above its warning line may be disposed of during cleaning. The Litter-Robot 4 details here do not specify litter compatibility, so check Whisker’s guidance for the litter you plan to use.

How much space does Litter-Robot 4 need?

Litter-Robot 4 measures 27 x 24.25 x 29.5 in and must not touch any walls or sit pushed into a corner. Leave room around it, then compare the full footprint with Meowant’s 20 x 21.5 x 20 in dimensions before choosing a location.